Frequeintly asked question

How can I get my Learner's Permit in Virginia?

To get your learning permit in Virginia, you need to fill in the request form for your driver’s license, provide your proof of identity, SSN. Later, you should pass the test consisting of two parts as well as the vision test.​​ The fee is $3.

When should I renew my Virginia driver’s license?

The renewal due date is written on your license. Generally, they are valid for eight years. You should take into account to undergo the renewal in a year before it expires or you may face penalties and fines. The renewal fee is the same as the license fee and depends mainly on transport type and weight. Virginia offers online, via mail, or in-person renewals. However, the first time you are required to visit the local DMV.

How can I find out the Virginia DMV services?

The easiest way is to look up the locations on the VA DMV website. It has a special option to help you find out the nearest customer service center.

What is the difference between vanity plates and personalized plates?

The main difference between these two is the limitations of the character use. For vanity plates, you can only use a three-digit combination or up to seven letters only. Meanwhile, for personalized license plates, you can use both digits and letters together.

What should I do if I want to register my vehicle in VA as a new resident?

If you want to register your vehicle in Virginia and have just moved to the state you should bring the following documents with you:
the proof you live in Virginia
proof of identity
previous title
the previous registration
Bill of sale

Can I surrender my license plates?

Yes. You can surrender your Virginia driver’s license if you no longer need it if you move out of state and in case you want to change the license plate type. To surrender the license you will need to visit the local DMV customer service center and take your license plates, ID, and filled-in application form with you.

Does Virginia require a vehicle inspection sticker?

In Virginia, a vehicle must pass an annual safety inspection and display a valid safety inspection sticker before it can be operated. You may be fined if you drive your vehicle without an inspection sticker. Contact the nearest customer service center of VA DMV for more details.

Can I drive with tinted/sun-shaded windows?

Before you register and drive your car with tinted or sun-shaded windows, you must pass a quick check. On highways, you can have your front windows darkened no more than 50% and the rear ones 35%. What concerns windshields, you are not allowed to tint or sun-shade them.

Is there an online platform to get my driving records?

Yes. You can visit the Virginia DMV website to request your driving records’ copy. You can also mail them a request. The certified records are subject to a $5 charge.