Obtain a Vehicle Safety Inspection Sticker in Virginia
In order to drive lawfully in Virginia, you have to title and register your automobile as well as get Virginia license plates. However, this all won’t work if you don’t have a VA vehicle inspection sticker attached to your car. In case, the police caught you driving without a check sticker you may face penalties and fines.
How to get one?
Generally, you get your inspection sticker after you have passed a complete examination and the company ensures everything is alright with your automobile. The certificate is also available for law enforcement agencies when running a Virginia license plate lookup.
During the check, your automobile will go through a detailed examination of the following parts:
Trailer brakes, service brakes, emergency brakes, parking or holding brakes
Suspension and steering
Frame, engine mounts, coupling mechanisms, and emergency chains are all included
Tires, rims, and wheels
SCombinations of headlamps, rear lamps, tail lamps, license plate lamps, and rear lamp combinations
Back-up, cornering, driving, fog, spot, and warning lights are examples of auxiliary lamps
Parking, clearing, side marker lights, and reflectors are all examples of lighting
A signaling gadget
Hazard lights, stop lights, and permissible lighting equipment is all examples of permissible lighting equipment
A signaling gadget
Glazing and glass
Defroster and windshield wiper
System of hatch latches
Seat, seat belts
Air pollution control system
Muffler, exhaust systems, and trailer venting
Generally, the duration of the examination is based on the inspector’s professionalism and the type of car. Each check requires the completion of extra documentation, which typically takes around 10 minutes. Allow at least 30 minutes for the examination of your automobile.
The Inspection Standards in VA
If you have purchased your car in one of the following areas it is a must to pass an emission check:
Manassas/ Manassas Park
However, if it’s the first time to get your car recorded in VA and you already have a one-year available emission certificate, you can undergo the inspection process without having to re-apply for an emissions certificate.
Vehicle Insurance Requirements in Virginia
There are some general state requirements you need to follow if you are a VA resident and operate an auto. First of all, your transport must be protected by a liability policy issued by a state-licensed insurance provider. It must be done from the day you get registered until the day the registration due date. This law is applicable even if you don’t operate an auto or it is not used at the moment.
If you apply for registration and you do not have insurance, you must pay a $500 uninsured motor vehicle cost (UMV). This cost does not provide insurance, but it does allow you to register and operate your auto in VA for one year.
If you register your car in VA but do not have liability and do not pay the UMV charge, you will be fined $500, your driver's license and vehicle registration(s) will be suspended, and your insurance premiums will be higher for the next three years.
When you purchase or cancel liability coverage, or add or remove an automobile from a policy, the company instantly tells the DMV.